Thread: noob intro & question...

Default noob intro & question...

Just wanted to poke my head in and introduce myself. I'm relatively new to cigars (just started smokin em about a month ago), but I've been visiting this site for long enough now that I thought I'd finally register and join the community. I can't believe the wealth of information you guys have given me in getting started on my "cigar education". Thanks guys.

Onto my actual question...

So after trying out a decent number of cigars, I have been finding that my favorite so far (regardless of price) are the paper wrapped EL REY DEL MUNDOs. Specifically the rectangulares. They just seem to taste so much better in this vitola. I was wondering what other cigars out there share a similar flavor profile with these guys, regardless of price.

I've been told that the ERdMs (I think that's the correct shorthand) are very similar to the classic taste of cubans, however I don't see myself gaining access to those anytime soon. If you know of any non-cubans that taste similar please let me know. I guess if you guys know of any cubans that DO taste similar that info could come in handy later on down the road, but right now I'm a little more interested in knowing about the ones I can find this week.

Thanks for your help guys,
    SAB

Blog Entries

I like the ERDM's as well, although the Robusto Largas and some other tissue-wrapped maduro are the only vitolas available to me locally. I, too, enjoy thier taste.

I would suggest maybe looking at some other Honduran cigars, although you can't religiously depend on that. Maybe something in the line of a Excalibur 1066 Dark Knight, a Sancho Panza XF, Saint Luis Rey Serie G or a Punch Rare Corojo. Just a thought.

Welcome to the board from central Oregon.

Age Quod Agis

1 Strike

All of mrtr33's suggestions were on my list. But here are a few more you may like.
    Carlos Torano Exodus and Virtuoso
    5 Vegas series A
    Indian Tobac Fire