Thread: Humidor wont get about 63 RH

1. Default Humidor wont get about 63 RH

Relative newbie here but I got my first humidor. Did all the seasoning steps, and it was huming along at 68% RH for a week or so, now going into week two it wont get above 63% RH (outside is only 59% or so). The meter is fine. I have added more water to the sponge and it doesnt seem to be doing anything to bring the RH higher. Ideas? Is there something I am missing.

Thanks,

Blog Entries

Welcome to the board. If you're sure your hygro is calibrated correctly, check the humi for leakage.

3. Default

the meter is calibrated right. I got it back up to 65% and then it stopped for a day and I added more water to the sponge and now its actually back down to 63%.....I am at a complete loss as to what is going on.

Its a pretty nice electronic meter as well and it was close to 70% when I tested it at the store.

Any other thoughts?

4. Default

I keep mine at 65 or so. I dont have an answer for you but your cigars will be much more smokeable at 63 rh than 70 rh. Trust me Ive been smoking longer than 1/2 the dudes on this board have been alive
    The older I get ,the better I was

Blog Entries

How many cigars are in there?

too few and it won't stabilize properly
    "We're at NOW now... everything that's hapening now... is happening NOW!"

~ Col. Sanders ~

"I guess all we need to do now is give a shit what you think. I'll work on that."

~ ashauler ~

6. Default

About 30 or so. I put about 5 more in there yesterday that I got in the mail which may be the reason for the drop the second time, but it should kick back with the sponge in there right? the humidor is probably 75% full or so.

7. Default

down to 61% now even though I refilled it a day ago.

Blog Entries

Quote Originally Posted by biltritewave View Post
    down to 61% now even though I refilled it a day ago.
    Did you ever do the dollar bill or flashlight test? How did you test the hygro at the store?

9. Default