Thread: Suggestions for a cigar newbie?

Default Suggestions for a cigar newbie?

I'm really new to cigars and although I can't wait to dive deeper into this hobby, I'm not sure where to start!
    Does anyone have any good recommendations for cigars or even samplers for a beginner to try? I don't want to smoke White Owls or Swishers but nor do I need to start off with a Gurkha! I think a good price range is probably anything under $10.
    I am trying to get advice from anywhere I can and you guys on here really know your stuff!
    If you have one a good beginner's cigar that you don't want, I would be willing to take it off your hands in the Exchange section.
    Any thoughts on what I should smoke?
    Thanks in advance!

Blog Entries

Quote Originally Posted by jakecartier3 View Post
    I'm really new to cigars and although I can't wait to dive deeper into this hobby, I'm not sure where to start!
    Does anyone have any good recommendations for cigars or even samplers for a beginner to try? I don't want to smoke White Owls or Swishers but nor do I need to start off with a Gurkha! I think a good price range is probably anything under $10.
    I am trying to get advice from anywhere I can and you guys on here really know your stuff!
    If you have one a good beginner's cigar that you don't want, I would be willing to take it off your hands in the Exchange section.
    Any thoughts on what I should smoke?
    Thanks in advance!
    While I can relate to your enthusiasm, why don't you just hit the review section, read some reviews, and then hit the local B&M and talk to someone behind the counter. Or, use search.

Will

ETA: Why do newbs always reference Gurkhas as highly desirable?
    Last edited by badwhale; 05-11-2010 at 12:03 AM.
    The powers that be might take it all away
    Together we burn, together we burn away

Uncle Tupelo

Quote Originally Posted by badwhale View Post