Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: CV joint replacement advice

Default CV joint replacement advice

I'm slated to try doing this on my wife's vehicle. Anyone ever done one of these? It doesn't look too hard, but paper can be deceiving. I've got a sizable set of hand/power/air tools, and a knack for fixing stuff. I've also done other minor car repair before, just not a CV replacement. A DIY on this will save a good $300-$400, so it's well worth the effort

Any advice from someone whose done the deed?
    "some people are like slinkies, they're not really good for anything but they can bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs." –Unknown

"He did for bullshit what Stonehenge did for rocks." -Cecil Adams

It's not terribly difficult -- I worked as a mechanic when I was in undergrad -- but I had the benefit of a lift and all of the proper tools. A pickle fork is critical to separate the ball joint -- that may be the only tool you'll need that isn't common for a DIYer.

Check out the link below -- a nice video series that should help the process somewhat.

http://www.ehow.com/videos-on_629_replace-cv-joint.html

3. Default

Some of the sealed wheel bearing bolts can be a real bitch to get loose. I put upper and lower ball joints on the durango in 4 hours and the hardest part was all of it LOL. Good luck ,I have an Intrepid Im just waiting for to start that dreaded clicking sound
    The older I get ,the better I was

That's weird. I can't get the video to play in either IE or Firefox.
    "some people are like slinkies, they're not really good for anything but they can bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs." –Unknown

Quote Originally Posted by kevin7 View Post