Thread: Can not seem to get above 60%

1. Default Can not seem to get above 60%

Hello, I am new to humidors and keeping cigars my wife recently got me some cuban cigars and a humidor. I had the humidor about 2 months before I found out how to season it and get the cigars ready. Now I have had the thing for a few weeks, I keep seasoning it with a wet cloth rubbed into the wood and then left in there for about 2 days, the humidity only ever gets just above 70 then when I remove the wet cloth from inside the humidor (which was sitting on plastic saran wrap) the humidity goes down to about 60% and stays there. I thought maybe the sponge wasn't working well enough so I also went out and bought a drymistat... Still 60%... I've repeated the process a few times, once leaving the wet cloth in for 5 days, same thing dropped to 60 as soon as I remove it. I have included pics of my setup, right now I have the drymystat, wet sponge and a shot glass of water in there to try to keep those nice cigars from drying out but still alas... 60%....

Anyone have any ideas?

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_1218[1].jpg 
Views:	587 
Size:	92.7 KB 
ID:	3061Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_1219[1].jpg 
Views:	566 
Size:	95.3 KB 
ID:	3062Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_1220[1].jpg 
Views:	652 
Size:	95.6 KB 
ID:	3063Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_1221[1].jpg 
Views:	547 
Size:	95.4 KB 
ID:	3064

Blog Entries

Quote Originally Posted by macinnisl View Post