Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Humidity

1. Default Humidity

I have researched till my thumbs bleed. I have a handmade box with a warped lid. I bought a brand new (cheap ) hygrometer and a Xikar humidifier w/crystals. It will not get over 62% RH. I even weather
    Stripped the box. It's sealed tight. Still remains at 61%. It's pouring out. Humidity is 100%. Still 61% in the box. Moved my box to the garage. Could my hygrometer be that far off? Never did a salt test. Now it's stuck to my lid. Should I open
    my lid in the garage for a while? Is the cold weather an issue? Sorry for
    The novel and thanks in advance.
    Last edited by Twotacotuesday; 02-07-2014 at 08:08 PM.

Blog Entries

Well, I don't think your thumbs are bleeding very much actually. At least, you didn't read any of my recent posts on the subject of humidity (I'm not an expert, by the way...just a causal observer of fact). If you didn't calibrate your hygrometer and if it is an analog hygrometer, then you still have some work to do.

As for the humidity, I would be OK with 62% humidity in the winter. My humidor is reading 60% right now. All my cigars are perfectly safe at that humidity. They smoke wonderfully. So, you are probably OK, so I wouldn't worry too much.

How are your cigars smoking? What did you smoke last? Did you have any issues with the cigar cracking or anything?

While you are at it, why not tell us something about yourself? Do you want to stay a lurker or do you want to join our community?

3. Default

They smoke nicely actually. I smoked a punch last night and it was wonderful. I was just wondering if
    They would be better at 70%. As long as they smoke nicely that's all that really matters. In the past I
    Smoked only a few times a year. I recently dug out my humidor and stocked it. Trying to learn as much
    As possible. And you're right about not reading your post. I started another forum an did my research