Thread: Noobie Questions

Default Noobie Questions

Hello... I'm fairly new to cigars i have smoked about 5 -6 since i started smoking cigars so i finally decided to make the jump and get my own humidor... I have a few question though

1) What is the optimal temperature of the room that you can store a humidor at.. I check my room and its a constant 80 degrees (probably too hott) I check the Living room and it fluctuates between 77 and 80 (probably too hot as well) Now my Basement is pretty much a steady 65 degree and I'm thinking this is the best place to store it...

2) I understand how to stage a humidor and how to calibrate the hygrometer.. But in some of the How to Sites that i have read they say nothing about rotating the cigars.. is it true that you have to rotate them ? If so how often ?

3) What is the optimal humidity for the humidor ? I read between 71 and 79% i understand that this is preference and you set it the way you like your cigars but i was thinking that 73 was a good starting point and then i could work from there

4) I was looking at some pictures of humidors on this site and i see that the majority of them have gel tubes or tubs in them.. So i did a little research and there additional humidification devices right ? I'm getting myself a 300count humidor would i need a few of these as well ?

Sorry for all the questions and thanks in advanced..

Quote Originally Posted by mister_bin View Post
    Hello... I'm fairly new to cigars i have smoked about 5 -6 since i started smoking cigars so i finally decided to make the jump and get my own humidor... I have a few question though

1) What is the optimal temperature of the room that you can store a humidor at.. I check my room and its a constant 80 degrees (probably too hott) I check the Living room and it fluctuates between 77 and 80 (probably too hot as well) Now my Basement is pretty much a steady 65 degree and I'm thinking this is the best place to store it...