Page 1 of 22 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Beer Thread

Default Beer Thread

Any beer lovers on here?

I am just getting into it. Seems to be the natural progression after Scotch. I just had some Big Rock espresso stout. It is a limited holiday release from the local brewery here in Calgary. Very nice. I also picked up a 6er of Brooklyn Black Chocolate Stout from the Winter 07-08 release. Pretty hefty at 10.6% but apparently it drinks nicely. I was surprised to see it locally though. Apparently there are only 180 cases in all of Canada.

Espresso Stout
    Brooklyn Black Chocolate Stout
    {*insert snide remark here*}
    Trader Rating: +2112

2. Default

Beer...The nectar of the Gods. Fall and Winter are the best times for beer lovers. All the full flavored seasonal releases are hitting the market.

I'll come back with a list of my favorites later.

Quote Originally Posted by cigarsarge View Post
    Beer...The nectar of the Gods. Fall and Winter are the best times for beer lovers. All the full flavored seasonal releases are hitting the market.

I'll come back with a list of my favorites later.
    Yup, I couldn't agree more. Nothing like a nice heavy beer on a cold winter or fall night. I'm a big fan of Sam Adam's Oktoberfest and Winter Spice seasonal beers.

Quote Originally Posted by derivation View Post
    Yup, I couldn't agree more. Nothing like a nice heavy beer on a cold winter or fall night. I'm a big fan of Sam Adam's Oktoberfest and Winter Spice seasonal beers.
    Got em on tap at my local hangout, I think. Fest for sure & I think I had the winter spice the other night. It was winter something. Fruity & light with a hint of sour. Gimme Bass & Guinness draft. And the Guinness should just be chilled. When I want a Guinness, I order something else & a Guinness. Gives the Guinness time to warm up. Always have one on standby coming up to temp.

So far Smithwick's is my favorite beer and is absolutely delicious.