Thread: Just got fired from my project, WTF?

Unhappy Just got fired from my project, WTF?

I have been insanely busy the last two weeks since I returned from my friends wedding. To give you some back ground, I work in construction and was doing a stint in the scheduling department when I heard that we were awarded a Joint Venture contract to build a major project. I wanted to apply my newly learned skill on this project since I was ready to go back out on a project and since I wanted to do so as a scheduler. Well, since July, I have been busting my butt to not only get the Baseline schedule approved, but to also get the first update done, and also to build several mini schedules to later bring into the project’s schedule. According to what my boss was having me do, I though I was doing a good job. However, the project director decided that he needed the entire scheduling department on the project, so when I returned from Maui, I found my old boss, and coworkers on site. Each one had taken over one of the items I was working on. So today my scheduling boss asked me to head over to the main office after lunch and he brought me into the Director of HR's office. Apparently, the top guys, a few levels above my boss at WR, had questioned my desire, productivity and commitment to the project and basically asked HR to remove me from the project. I found out that I was to be replaced by 2 full time people and one part time person! I guess I'm not that good at doing the work for 2.5 people, what a shocker! After explaining this to me, and listening and giving me a chance to explain why all of those schedules were not done, in addition to other activities thrown upon my, I was told that while I wasn't being fired completely, I would need to improve or else. I could not believe what I had heard! I had had great Performance Reviews prior to this job, and all indications from my immediate boss at this project were all positive. This came out of left field! Afterwards I had a can