Thread: First time poster, noob smoker...a few questions and introduction.

1. Default First time poster, noob smoker...a few questions and introduction.

First off, nice community here. I am a 28 y/o Firefighter/paramedic originally from California, now living in NM for the last 3 years. My ol' lady (fiance) is a 21 y/o cop who also enjoys cigars.

I am relatively new to smoking cigars. Sure, Ive smoked them here and there when friends have offered them, but never really paid much interest in them. All I do know, is that I have had some I really liked, and a few that I didn't care much for. I got turned onto them this last Christmas when the ol' lady's uncle showed up and smoked all night. Eventually I got to talking to him and he offered me a cigar. No idea what it was, but I *really* liked it. It was a tad bit sweet. Not sure if it was full bodied or not, as I was a bit inebriated from all the beer and wine. I'll try to give him a ring and find out what exactly it was.

In the mean time, I googled 'the best cheap cigars' and read some reviews about some on the list. The first 5 were described as cigars for experienced smokers and I ended up going with the 1st one on the list, the Saint Luis Rey - Reserva Especial. I like it, but not quite what I am looking for.

What I am looking for now is something that smokes a little sweet, and perhaps a tad bit more mild. I'm not talking flavored, but rather natural sweetness from the tobacco. Any ideas? On a side note, I'll probably order a couple CAO flavored cigars for the ladies when I host poker games.

Now, here is the list of what I just ordered over the weekend after doing some research on here and google. Tell me what you think.

Ashton Prime Minister (Create-A-Sampler Item)

Ashton 8-9-8 (Create-A-Sampler Item)

Ashton Corona

Te Amo Toro (Create-A-Sampler Item)

Private Stock #2 (Create-A-Sampler Item)

Macanudo Hyde Park (Create-A-Sampler Item)

Flor De Oliva 7 X 50 (free with the order)

Welcome from Virginia!