Thread: Newbie: Cigar vs cigarettes

Default Newbie: Cigar vs cigarettes

Hey guys, I am another newbie to this site. I am from Vancouver, Canada and new to this cigar business. I have been smoking cigarettes for a few years but decided to quit recently. And to be honest I never really liked cigars but the many that I tried were the gas stations type (that many of few despise on this site). A few weeks ago, a friend of mine came back from Cuba with a few Montecristos, and man did I ever enjoy it. Opened a whole new world to me. Now I am planning to do a newbie sampler offered on this site and start my own collection. Can anybody point me to a general forum for info on cigars.

The reason for this post is a bit different. A few days ago, I had an interesting conversation with an acquaintance of mine who grew up on a tobacco farm in Canada. He is a big cigar person and mentioned something very curious. He said that smoking cigarettes is a health issue because of all the chemicals that they have in them, which is understandable. The intersting part is that tobacco itself has not been proven by medical researchers to be dangerous to your health. Natural tobacco without any chemicals, which is used in cigars, is not nearly as bad as smoking. For me, the general dogma is that smoking a cigar is like smoking half a pack of smokes. What are your thoughts on this? And does this have any merit?

Blog Entries

Quote Originally Posted by gk101 View Post