Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Humidor Question

Default Humidor Question

As I said in my intro in general discussions, I'm new to the whole cigar thing, but learning quickly. I'd like your thoughts on a first humidor. I looked pretty extensively thru this forum and didn't see anything on this topic.

I'm still learning what I like and don't like, so for a while my purchases will be small quantities of a variety of cigars, like samplers, so I'm not ready for make a coolerdor or anything too large or elaborate, a 50ish humidor would probably suit me fine for now. I've seen such for sale online for about $50-$75, but I've also seen online articles saying you'd be better off dropping your cigars in the nearest trash can and saving the time and effort of storing them in such a humidor. Is that true, or was it just written by someone who makes expensive humidors for a living? Would I be better off buying the humidifier, hydrometer, and a spanish cedar cigar box and putting them in a tupperware container?

Thanks in advance!

Blog Entries

Quote Originally Posted by markd View Post
    I looked pretty extensively thru this forum and didn't see anything on this topic.
    ha.

I'm still learning what I like and don't like, so for a while my purchases will be small quantities of a variety of cigars, like samplers, so I'm not ready for make a coolerdor or anything too large or elaborate, a 50ish humidor would probably suit me fine for now.
    ha ha.

I've seen such for sale online for about $50-$75, but I've also seen online articles saying you'd be better off dropping your cigars in the nearest trash can and saving the time and effort of storing them in such a humidor. Is that true, or was it just written by someone who makes expensive humidors for a living? Would I be better off buying the humidifier, hydrometer, and a spanish cedar cigar box and putting them in a tupperware container?