Thread: "Beginner" Maduro

Blog Entries

Default "Beginner" Maduro

I've had some recent bad experiences with maduro cigars.
    At one time I was smoking CAO Maduros and liked them quite a bit. But, I ran into a bunch that wouldn't draw (I assume, now, due to over-humidification) and gave them up. Then, later, I bought a box of La Caya Maduro torpedoes from Cuban Crafters and they were crappy. I recently bought two samplers from Thompsons (bad timing-I bought them right before I started reading here steadily) and both of them have crappy maduros in them (smoking one right now, as a matter of fact).
    I used to really enjoy a maduro, but have sort of soured on them.
    What would be a couple of "beginner" maduros to sort of ease back into the experience?

Thanks,
    Matt

Blog Entries

I have no idea what a "beginner" Maduro is - some might say that would be an oxymoron, but I digress.

Here are some to try, in order of increasing price, more or less:

Flor de Oliva Maduro
    Oliva G Maduro
    Padron Maduro
    Fuente Hemingway Maduro

Those are among the best mild-medium body Maddies in their respective price ranges, IMHO.
    Last edited by craig; 08-15-2012 at 09:39 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by ash13brook View Post
    At one time I was smoking CAO Maduros and liked them quite a bit. But, I ran into a bunch that wouldn't draw (I assume, now, due to over-humidification) and gave them up. Then, later, I bought a box of La Caya Maduro torpedoes from Cuban Crafters and they were crappy. I recently bought two samplers from Thompsons (bad timing-I bought them right before I started reading here steadily) and both of them have crappy maduros in them (smoking one right now, as a matter of fact).
    What would be a couple of "beginner" maduros to sort of ease back into the experience?

Thanks,
    Matt
    - Padron 3000 Maduro (Robusto) (well, any Padron really)
    - Rocky Patel Vintage 1990 (Robusto)
    - Cuban Stock Royal Selection (Toro)