Thread: Thompsons Brand . . . Good or Bad??

Default Thompsons Brand . . . Good or Bad??

Ok so I am a NOOB to the wide world of cigars. In the last 4 months or so I have smoked a wide variety of cigars, from $3 to $15 per stick, and with very few exceptions I found pleasurable qualities in almost every one.

I have ordered some products from Thompsons but never any of their TC label cigars. I know that Thompson has TC labeled cigars and those blends with an actual name and the Tompson name on them as well.

A good friend and long-time cigar smoker tells me the TC Banded cigars are fine cigars especially for the price.

Does anyone out there have any expereince with these? I do not want to buy what I heard someone call "Doggy Rockets" regardless of the price.

Thanks

2. Default

i would stay away from them,their prices are about the highest you'll find and they will charge above retail on some cigars.i learned the hard way.
    try jrcigars,lacigar,fullerspullers,or cigarsinternational instead.
    you can get bundled seconds or overruns of name brands like perdomo for under $2 a stick from CI.

Default Ditto on Luke Ford's comment.........

Thompson's is a rip-off.

I have never seen higher catalog prices in my life than I have seen at Thompson's. I have tried a couple of their house brands (which seems to make up about 40% of their catalog) and they were dog rockets.

Stay away.

Sorry Thompson's! My opinion!

4. Default Agreed, but house labels *can* be good smokes

I'm in complete agreement with the thompson's comments - but I think that some house labels can be decent smokes. Caribe makes some good cigars for their house-label distribution program. They make a label for this cigar shop that are pretty good smokes.

Personally, I rarely smoke house labels - only to change things up and keep myself from getting burned out on my favorites. But I'm a graphic designer by trade and thought the logos on these cigars were pretty cool