Thread: Cigar high?

Default Cigar high?

Hello all, this is my first post here and I have many many questions for you all I am a 23 year old Fitness instructor (ironic no?) and live in the Midlands of the UK.

I have been smoking cigars now for about 3 months, one a week, sometimes 2 for special occasions. I notice that the larger the cigar (both length and guage) the more dizzy and "high" I feel upon finishing. Is this because of some drug in the the tobbacco (nicoteine or other) or because of the fact I am not totally breathing correctly much for about an hour or so? Don't get me wrong, it's a nice feeling but a little unwelcome at times.

I do not drink alcohol nor do I smoke ciggies or do any other drug. I hear that some Cigars give you a heady feeling.

Nicotine high because you aren't use to it. If you continue light smoking of cigars you will probably always experience it with larger sticks or when you have more in a close amount of time. If you smoke more often your body will become use to the nicotine and it won't affect you anymore.

Welcome to the board. The dizziness you are feeling can be attributed to a number of things.

One of which could be if the cigar is “green” (when the cigar isn’t aged by the manufacturer or isn't aged long enough). Some companies rush their cigars on the market and don’t age the cigars for a period of time (which can leave higher amounts of nicotine and other chemicals in the cigar). If this is the culprit you could let the cigar sit in a humidor for a couple of weeks or months (over time the levels of nicotine, ammonia and such will level off and won’t be as harsh).

Another culprit could be the body of the cigar. If you just started smoking, full body cigars may be able to give you this feeling, especially if your smoking on an empty stomach. (I would recommend you eat a meal before you smoke a full body cigar, especially if you just started to smoke).

bigpoppapuff Guest