Thread: New Tupperdor

Default New Tupperdor

So I've been putzing along with a couple of 20 ct humis from Cbid now. Last night I got my lighter and beads in and started thinking about needing more space. Then I realized I have a package on the way from funkycold5 from a "Buy me These" and also a rather diverse shipment from Cbid due next week. Suddenly my storage space is wayyyyy too small.

So I didn't want to get a cooler since I don't have the need for one, and hopefully not having all that empty space will keep me from splurging on something to fill it with. I don't have the funds to buy a nice sized humidor. So I decided that a nice sized tupperdor would work perfect.

Here I am going to chronicle my "construction" of the tupperdor so y'all can let me know if I did anything wrong, or right, or just so other new guys with limited funds can have an example.

spiffy

p.s. I'm a total newbie so take this for what its worth.

So first off I went to Wally World (that's Wal-Mart) and hunted for supplies. What I was looking for was a good sized container, some plastic trays, and some shallow containers for the beads.

I apologize in advance for the somewhat crappy pictures, I had to use my phone.

One of the biggest problems with tupperdors (and coolerdors) is that they are either airtight, which can cause problems if left closed for a long time, or they don't seal at all, which makes it difficult to stabilize the RH. Thinking about this I bought a container that doesn't really seal, and then some weather stripping tape (thin foam tape) to put around the edges. Hopefully this will create enough of a seal to keep the environment stable, but still allow some measure of breathability.

So...here is my haul:

1---24 qt plastic box with locking handles
    2---wide plastic trays
    3---narrow plastic trays
    1---package 3/4" wide sponge weatherstrip tape
    2---plastic soap dishes