Thread: New guy here

1. Default New guy here

I've been lurking around for a few weeks and finally decided to say hello to all you nice folks.

I'm still very new to cigars, but I have found little else that is relaxing as sitting on the patio, smoking a cigar, and forgetting the stresses and responsibilities of life for an hour or so. As to what I enjoy, the list of cigars I have sampled would probably be much more expansive if I weren't a poor college student. That being said, I would rather purchase one excellent cigar than spend the same amount on several of dubious quality.

I'll include a list of cigars I have tried below, disappointingly short as it is. Have I been buying decently regarded varieties, or have I been deceived by clever marketing and random internet blogging? I've paid anywhere from ~$3 up to around $10 a stick, and $7-10 seems a fair price for good quality, but as mentioned before, I may be mistaken.

So I ask you gentlemen (and maybe a few ladies), what can I try that will give me a standard to judge other cigars by? I know what I like, and I don't buy again that which I don't, but the experience and recommendation of far more experience connoisseurs would be greatly appreciated.

My list:
    Montecristo White (Purchased today, as a ring-dunk smoke. Any other Ags on the forum?)
    Romeo y Julieta Cedro de Luxe No. 2
    Romeo y Julieta Churchill (I enjoyed these)
    Romeo y Julieta Habana Robusto (I haven't smoked this one yet, probably will Sunday afternoon)
    Taboo Habana Sun Grown Corona (Recommended by a shop in Grapevine)