Thread: First Thread from a newbie

Blog Entries

Default First Thread from a newbie

Thanks to all for your help and understanding to a beginner, especially bigpoppapuff!! A little about myself: 41 yr old, live in Kansas, Quality Program Coordinator for a third party warehouse and logistics firm. I have been smoking cigars for about 2 months now, have successfully used them to get rid of a cig habit. I smoke about 2 cigars a day and do my best not to inhale although I can't help a few inhalations on each cigar. Sounds like a lot of cigars, but much better that 50-60 cigs a day.

I would like some advice on cutters and the effect they have on the "even-burn" of the stogie, I seem to get uneven burn often. Is this possibly related to the way I am using the punch or cutter? I have both a punch and guillotine (sp?).

bigpoppapuff Guest

in my opinion,there are only two cutters to get...either a xikar multi-tool or regular xikar...or a palio (i counted xikar as one...your choice)...

hex has the xikars....caminoviejo.com (he runs this site)

you might also try rockyscigars.com for cigars,accessories,etc..

a bad cut can be a problem...get one of the aforementioned cutters...

For a bad burn, it is important to get a good light and have the cigar properly "humidified". Xikar cutters are highly recommended. Since you are smoking cigars often, it may be a good idea for you to go ahead and invest in a quality cutter. Bigpuff has the Xikar scissor tool, I have the butterfly cutter. Both work great and come with a lifetime warranty. It is the only cutter you will ever need.

Welcome from the UK!

IMHO any good double guilotine cutter will do, but admitedly Xikar make the best of these. Your burn problems are probally down to uneven humidification.
    I thought it was a tampon joke!

Welcome!

I personally do not get a strong connection between messing around with the puffing end of the cigar affecting what is happening at the end thats on fire, but thats just me .