Hello to all on the forum. I've been viewing posts here for a few weeks and finally decided to make my first. I hope it's a good one.

This is a newbie's rating of 2 cigars that I really enjoyed. Being a newbie I was hesitant to try a cigar with a darker wrapper but wanted to experiment a bit, and to my delight I found a very good cigar and an excellent one as well. I tried both of these on consecutive evenings while sitting on the back patio enjoying the great weather we've been having here in Arizona. Both were enjoyed with a glass of Guinness Draught (not the extra stout) as well, poured from the can. For some reason this is the only brew I prefer from the can instead of the bottle. For that matter, it's the only brew that I really like. I know some might consider a beer, especially a dark beer, to be a poor mate for a cigar, but my reasoning was that a stronger, fuller bodied cigar would complement the rich, dark, and full bodied beer quite nicely. IMHO it worked out great. Ok, enough chit chat, on to the cigars.

The first is the La Gloria Cuban Maduro. It was the Wavell which means the size was 5 x 50. This is the first maduro I've had in years and only the second ever. I consider myself a newbie because I only had a cigar once in a great while and really didn't know what I was doing, what brands to smoke, or what I was looking for in a cigar. It started out with undertones of cocoa and a slight sweetness, both of which I believe were enhanced by the Guinness. It had a nice slow, even burn with a thick white ash that fell into the ashtray in nice 1" long chunks. Very smooth and mellow with a medium body. I was expecting it to be fuller bodied than it was. About 1/3 the way through it got a bit spicy turning to a bit woodier halfway through with the spiciness being tamed a bit. This was a very good cigar in my opinion and I give it 3.5 stars out of 5.