Thread: I need an emergency humidor

1. Default I need an emergency humidor

I have been smoking for a few months now and haven't gotten around to building a stock of cigars or a humidor to store them. I'll be getting one soon, but need some help in the short term.

Someone gave me a cigar worth over thirty dollars. I'd like to smoke it, but want to make sure it's not dried out. Is there any way I can build an emergency humidor using common household items? I've read the tips on how to calibrate a hygrometer, so it seems I could do something similar to humidify a single cigar. Any suggestions?

Tupperware and a damp sponge should work on a very temporary basis, but you should go out and get some florist foam or better yet, check into humidity beads for longer term storage.

get a humidor bag. i got one at my tobacco store for 5 bucks, they are good for 6 months.

There are also small humi bags that will work very well in a ziplock in the fridge. They are about 1 inch by 1.5 inches and light blue in color. You place it in distilleed water for a couple seconds then in the pouch. That pouch goes in a little large but still small ziplock. PLace that OPEN bag in a larger size ziplock with your smokes. They say these will work for a couple months.

I bought a couple from my local shop for about $.50 a piece.

Good Luck . . . . oh and hey, what is the cigar that you were given?????
    Let us so live that when we come to die even the undertaker will be sorry. - - Mark Twain

5. Default

The cigar is a Zino Platinum Double Grand Natural. They come in bundles of three at Corona Cigars for $95, so I was a little off on my price. Looks like a VERY nice smoke, but I don't want to touch it until I am certain it has been properly prepared.

I'm looking to buy a basic 25-cigar humidor and a bundle of decent smokes for under $50. Any suggestions?

Quote Originally Posted by jaewing